Aloha

Hawaii-38

Hawaii – thank you for having me. For showing me your beauty, your kindness, your hidden treasures. For showing me shaka, the concept of friendship, understanding, compassion, and solidarity. I have enjoyed you with all my senses,and hope to take some of your spirit home, to adopt in my own life.

Aloha, a very powerful word, greeting, way of living. What does it mean:
A Akahai – meaning kindness (grace), to be expressed with tenderness.
L Lokahi – meaning unity (unbroken), to be expressed with harmony.
O ‘Olu’olu – meaning agreeable (gentle), to expressed with pleasantness.
H Ha’aha’a – meaning humility (empty), to be expressed with modesty.
A Ahonui – meaning patience (waiting for the moment), to be expresse with perseverance.

True Aloha means you have to do all principles. So to live Aloha, is to live all of the principles. The Queen Lili’uokalani of Hawaii described true Aloha in 1917 as “To gain the kingdom of heaven is to hear what is not said, to see what cannot be seen, and to know the unknowable – that is Aloha.”

It is not just a greeting, it is a condition, a way of life, a mind set, an attitude. It is an action, not a reaction. It is a natural response of respect, love and reciprocity. It is a way of being, behaving, a way of life. It is a commitment to being real and accepting others and giving dignity to who they are and what they have to offer.

Now, struggling with my jetlag I realise how fortunate I have been to be able to visit. Whatever happens in my future, nobody can take my experience away from me. Thank you, mahalo!

Leave a Reply

