The ‘Fietserpad’ – a cycle tour from north to south in The Netherlands (part 2)

A bicycle ride around the world begins with a single pedal stroke

I started in the province of Groningen and passed Drenthe. My ride through Niedersachsen in Germany I will forget. That was somehow one of the least impressive parts if you ask me. Gas installations, empty villages, the route went over grassy paths, tractor tracks and gravel roads. Okay, the most interesting thing was the fabulous ‘Kuchen’ (cake) on a terrace in Uelsen.

Overijssel

Then I enter the third Dutch province of my trip: Overijssel and one of my favourite areas called Twente. My first challenge is the Poasche Berg with an elevation of 89m. It is an end moraine remaining from one of the ice ages long, long time ago. I return to the nice town of Ootmarsum (I was here last year as well, see Cycle tour around Twente) and proceed along a very long canal. At some point I see a nice historic building called ‘Schuivenhuisje’, a weir used for the releasing of water from the Dinkel river to the canal. After a less impressive day, this is cheering me up. The lovely Dinkel river is winding through the fields and forrest. Small, picturesque towns show me their happy faces. A little bit further is the estate of Singraven, with its beautiful water mill. I pass Losser and Glanerbrug, and realise I am cyling along the Dutch-German border again. On a sandy road I notice the righthand side is Dutch territory, the left German. For me both corn fields look exactly the same.

I decide to make a small detour into Germany to visit a very nice water mill in the forrest, the ‘Haarmühle’. The route proceeds along large heather fields with swampy areas and another very impressive water mill (Oostendorper molen).

Gelderland

Without knowing I cross a province border again. I am entering Gelderland, and to be precise the Achterhoek. Famous for some Dutch rock band called Normaal, motor races and farm land. And then, again Germany. This tour partly follows the border and crosses it few times. I enter the sleepy town of Zwillbrock and see a beautiful Roman church. Not far down the road there is also a swampy area (Venn) where flamingo seems to breed. Unfortunately they do that in Spring, so I have to come back some day.

I proceed along typical landscapes and notice the humor people have. Garden gnomes greet me, welcome signs to have a seat and rest, a warning for a suicidal dachshund and I am so happy to spot a deer in the forrest. This is what I came here for. At the end of the day I set myself on a terrace in Bredevoort. The Book town, where people put their bookcases on the street, where there are many book shops and… a very impressive brick windmill, build in 1870 and used for grinding corn.

Without many places to get coffee, I proceed my route West. And then I reach ‘s-Heerenberg and Stokkum. I thought I knew a lot about the beauty of my country but here I am stunned. There is a beautiful 13th century castle and I never knew. The sun illumunates it like a fairytale. I have lunch and just keep on looking at it. Amazing. A bit further down the road is one of the oldest brick tower mills of western Europe in the town of Zeddam. Probably built in the 15th century, it is still operational today. Cycling here is fun, as there are some hills to conquer.

Again I head into Germany. This time I pass through a forrest with some nice hills to climb. Soon after I reach the point where the river Rijn enters the Netherlands. I keep cycling West and should have known this means headwind. Many kilometers of hard pedalling along the river. Somehow I have great fun. The views are completely different from the other days. I pass the river on a small cycle ferry and proceed. The polder is fantastic. Wet areas with wild horses and Scottish Highland cows and the history of making bricks from the clay.
I pass the nice town of Nijmegen to enter a very nice area called Berg en Dal (mountain and valley). I climb and descent in the forrests, have great views on the Mooker Hei, a nice elevated area with blooming heather and lowlands in the background. These are the lands of the world famous 4 days of Nijmegen hiking event. I love it here. 450 km On my counter and more to come…

Part 3>>
Part 1 >>

Leave a Reply

